EU: Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2019

Data apertura
18 Feb 2019
Data chiusura
14 Apr 2019
Soggetto gestore
European Commission


The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize was launched in 1992 to recognise excellence in reporting on development issues, inequalities, human rights and poverty eradication. It was created by DG DEVCO, and named after Lorenzo Natali, a precursor of European development policy.

The overarching theme of the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize is journalism for development.


Entries to this year’s competition should relate to development cooperation issues such as, but not limited to, youth, gender equality, health, climate change, etc.

The European Union and its Member States jointly provide over half of all official global development aid, making it the world’s leading donor. The New European Consensus on Development aligns the EU with the United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

The Prize is open for journalists in the following three categories:

  • 1. Grand Prize: open to journalists whose media headquarter is located in one of the more than 160 partner countries with which the European Union engages on development and cooperation.
  • 2. Europe Prize: open to journalists whose media headquarter is located in one of the countries of the European Union.
  • 3. Best Emerging Journalist Prize: open to journalists under 30 whose media is headquartered in any country where DG DEVCO and DG NEAR provide development assistance, as well as in the EU Member States.

The applicants will need to choose one of these categories when filling in the application form.

Geographic eligibility is based on the headquarters’ location of the media outlet where the work was published. The media outlet must be headquartered in eligible countries. 2018 winners cannot compete again for the 2019 Prize, but are eligible for subsequent editions. Author(s) Submitted journalistic works can have one or several authors. The participants must be the authors and holders of the copyright and the moral rights of their work.

Entries are accepted in all languages. However, a translation in English, French or Spanish is required for the entries that were not originally published in one of these languages. The entries will be evaluated on the basis of translated texts provided in one these three languages. For text-based applications, the length limit is 2 000 words. Video and audio entries can be up to 10 minutes long.

Entries must have been published (print or online) or broadcasted (radio or television) between 10 March 2018 and 9 March 2019.

There will be up to 3 winners. Categories can be left deserted if quality is not met.

Each category winner will receive 10 000€.

The winner of the Best Emerging Journalist category will also be offered a work experience opportunity with a media partner.

The European Commission will cover the cost of the winners’ travel to Brussels for the Award ceremony (in the case of jointly authored or produced items, please note that only one person will be funded)

Applications are open between 18 February and until 14 April 2019 23:59 CET.

The winners are expected to participate in the Award Ceremony to be held in Brussels on 18-19 June 2018.

18 Feb 2019

Beneficiari e Finalitá

Stato agevolazioni
Dimensione beneficiari
Non Applicabile
Cultura, Sociale
Inclusione social, Cooperazione
Ubicazione Investimento

Incentivi e Spese

Tipologia agevolazione
Premio, Borsa di studio
Lorenzo natali
Per continuare a leggere gli articoli inserisci la tua...

Questo sito web utilizza i cookie! Acconsenti ai nostri cookie, se continui ad utilizzare questo sito web.